kanye-west-spinApparently someone fronting themselves as Kanye West on Twitter had over a 1,000,000 people following his every activity. Kanye apparently found out about it and had the following things to say about it:

“I DON’T HAVE A F**KING TWITTER!”

“Why would I use Twitter? I only blog five percent of what I’m up to in the first place. I’m actually slow delivering content because I’m too busy, actually busy being creative, most of the time – and if I’m not and I’m just laying on a beach I wouldn’t tell the world.”

“Everything that Twitter offers, I need less of,”twitter-logo

First, if you blogged five percent of what you did with your life, how many entries a day would you have? On your blog? On your Twitter, if you have one? I don’t have a Twitter, but can you imagine if you posted, micro-blogged, even 5% of what you do daily on Twitter? Who has time to read that many micro-posts from a person.

Second, it does bring up the issue, with Twitter especially, but with any electronic
form of posting, Twitter, blogs, Facebook, myspace: how do you know the person posting is who they are and what they say they are? There is alot of trust given and freely taken in the electronic world in regards to who people say they are and what they represent.

Third, I for one completely agree with Kanye West about Twitter. I’m online too much, too much of my communication happens via email, gchat messages, or Facebook…the last thing I need is Twitter. I need less of what Twitter offers: communication without investment in the person I am communicating to. Yes, I’m aware of the irony of saying that while posting a note on Facebook or a blog. I need to make a greater commitment to communicating directly to people and recognizing that as an investment not just in our relationship but in them as a person.

Communication without that investment and without emotional commitment at some point will begin to feel very disengenious, inauthentic and selfish.

The question for those of us in youth ministry is not just how can we use these tools to enhance out ministries to young people, but what is the appropriate amount of usage? These tools can be very handy for connecting with very busy kids, but they are no replacement for healthy, caring, Christ centered relationships. It’s why Christ came down to earth, in human form, spoke to people, touched people, loved people instead of just yelling down from heaven, ‘Hey you guys! (think Sloth from the movie ‘Goonies’), I really really really love you. I love you so much I would die for you. Keep that in mind, alright?!’

Read the whole Kanye diatribe here if you want.

