In a week where Hillsong United’s new album ‘Tear Down The Walls//All Across The Earth’ is currently number 2 on the itunes album chart behind Eminem’s new album ‘Relapse’ my favorite song and worship song may not even be by a Christian band.

A few weeks ago, while listening to XFM, London’s alt-rock/indie radio station of choice, I heard a song that I swear had all the markings of an amazing praise and worship song. Soaring vocals, big full sound, passion, honesty, and invoked the name of the Lord in a reverential and uncontrived way. It became my new favorite song of the moment. The song is ‘Show Me What I’m Looking For’ by Carolina Liar.

Wait, I’m wrong
Should have done better than this
Please, I’ll be strong
I’m finding it hard to resist
So show me what I’m looking for

CHORUS
Save me, I’m lost
Oh lord, I’ve been waiting for youCarolinaLiar-02-big
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for
Show me what I’m looking for…oh lord

Don’t let go
I’ve wanted this far too long
Mistakes become regrets
I’ve learned to love abuse
Please show me what I’m looking for

I love this song….Today I cranked the radio, rolled down the windows (it was actually nice out today) and sang along (probably too loudly) and fell in love my Lord all over again.

It does beg the question, ‘Does a band need to be Christian, for a song to be a song of worship?’ My easy answer is ‘No’. But saying no to this question has far reaching implications. Am I ready to consider them? Sometimes. Saying no means that there is a possibility that all things, all people have the ability to bring glory to God without having knowledge articulated through faith in Him. The easy way to agree with this is to say all people are capable of doing this because all are created in His image. But the theological implications of these questions and answers are far more reaching…

I think I’ll just listen to this song again, sing along…and fall in love with my God all over again.

